Two More TA2 Howe Long Haul Award Winners Named

July 16, 2016

Two More TA2 Howe Long Haul Award Winners Named

Two More Long Hauls Before Heading South

John Atwell is the recipient of the Howe Long Haul Award for Mid Ohio for the Pura Vida Tequila Muscle Car 100 Presented by ETE REMAN. Atwell traveled north 1,152 miles to from his home in the great state of Texas. Atwell finished the event in the top ten with a solid 7th place finish after starting the race 13th.

Only two weeks later Trans Am headed north to beautiful northern Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin for the ETE Reman Transmissions Muscle Car 100 Presented by Pura Vida Tequila at Road America. Since no driver may receive the Howe Long Haul Award twice in one season Tommy Archer became the nearest driver in two seasons to win the $850 prize. Duluth, Minnesota is only 391 miles a state away from Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin. The former ice racing champion was right at home with the wet track at the start moving quickly forward from 8th place up to 2nd. Unfortunately a failed brake fitting forced him to the pit losing multiple laps to the race leader.

So far in 2016 Seven different drivers have received the Howe Long haul award. The Award goes to the driver that is competing in a Howe chassis who has traveled the greatest distance to each event. Each team may only win the $850 product award once during the season. In addition a $1,000 check and a custom built Iron Mule trophy will be awarded to the TA2 team that travels the most total miles during the season.

Photos courtesy of Chris Clark Photo